Custom views allow you to save or “bookmark” your current search, filters, and other view settings and return to this view with a single click. Using custom views, you can reduce the time you spend searching for the same groups of documents, tasks, object records, or reports. With sharing options, you can also send a view to other users.

Some custom views appear below standard views like All Documents and Recent Documents in the left navigation panel of the tab, but others are only accessible through the pop-out view manager window.

Custom views are available from:

  • Library tab
  • All Tasks view
  • Reports tab
  • Custom document tabs
  • Custom object tabs
  • Object list pages in Admin > Business Admin
  • Viewer tab (RIM)
  • Content Plan Hierarchy Viewer (RIM)
  • TMF Viewer tab (eTMF)

Object Tabs & Business Admin

Saved views created on an object tab are not visible for the same object in Admin > Business Admin and vice versa. In cases where an object has a custom tab and is visible in Business Admin, saved views are entirely separate.

Localization

When you select a shared custom view, some filter criteria may not be translated if the user who created the view has a different preferred language.

How to Use the View Manager

To see shared custom views and manage which views appear in the left sidebar Views panel, you can open the view manager pop-out window. To do this, click the pencil icon that appears next to the Views heading in the left sidebar.

From this window, you can open any view by clicking on the view name. You can add a view to your sidebar (up to a maximum of 20 views) by clicking the plus (+) icon or remove a view from the sidebar by clicking the minus (-) icon. If needed, you can use the search function to find the view you need.

How to Save Custom Views

In order to save a view, you must use search, filters, or both. You cannot save a view with only layout changes.

If you use a filter when creating a saved view on a custom object tab and your Admin defines filters on that tab that override your filters, your filter won’t work the next time you load your view.

  1. Open the All Documents view, All Tasks view, or any other location where custom views are available.
  2. Set the layout (tile, compact, among others) that you want to use for the custom view. If using the tabular view, you can use the Edit Columns option to change the visible columns. These options are not available on custom object tabs.
  3. Optional: Use the search bar or Advanced Search dialog to set up a search.
  4. Optional: From the Filters panel, set additional filters.
  5. Optional: Set a sort order.
  6. From the heading area, click Save View.
  7. Enter a Name and (optional) Description for the view. If you enter a description, this appears when users click the question mark (?) icon next to the heading when the view is open.
  8. Optional: Select an Icon for the view. Scroll to browse icons, or search for an icon by name.
  9. Click Save.

Custom View Icons

You can associate icons to your custom views to provide visual context and differentiate between views.

The magnifying glass is Vault’s default icon for saved views, while the bookmark is Vault’s default icon for mandatory (shared) saved views. If you wish, you can change the icon for mandatory saved views or assign the bookmark icon to other views as well.

You cannot select the magnifying glass icon from the icon library. To assign the magnifying glass icon to your view, clear the Icon field in the Save View dialog and click Save. Vault automatically assigns the magnifying glass.

How to Update & Copy Custom Views

After opening a saved custom view, you can make changes and update the view or save as a new custom view. Entering new search terms from the search bar or advanced search will clear the selected custom view, meaning that you will not be able to save the new view as an update to the current view.

  1. Open the custom view from the left sidebar panel or the view manager window.
  2. Make any needed changes to filters, search, and layout.
  3. In the heading area, select Save View or Save View As from the drop-down menu.
  4. If using Save View As, enter a Name and (optional) Description for the view. If updating, make changes to these fields as needed.
  5. Click Save.

How to Share Custom Views

To share a view with other users:

  1. Open the custom view from the left sidebar panel or the view manager pop-out window.
  2. Select Share from the drop-down menu that appears next to the view name.
  3. Select users and groups who will have access to the view, up to 50 total selections.
  4. If you want to add the view to recipients’ sidebar and make it non-removable, set the Recipients cannot remove this view from the tab’s sidebar checkbox.
  5. Click OK.

Vault does not send a notification to users when you share a view with them. The view appears immediately in a user’s view manager pop-out window or (if non-removable) in a user’s left sidebar.

When sharing, you can add up to 50 recipients. Recipients can be groups as well as users, so by using groups, you can share a view with more than 50 total users.

How to Delete Custom Views

Deleting a view that you shared means that users can no longer see it.

  1. Open the custom view from the left sidebar or the view manager pop-out window.
  2. In the heading area, select Delete from the drop-down menu.
  3. Click Continue to confirm the deletion. There is no way to recover a deleted custom view, except to recreate it.

Options for Managing Saved Views

Once you’ve saved a custom view, these options are available for managing the view. Some options (see below) are also available to users with whom you’ve shared the view.

Save View
Updates the existing custom view to reflect changes that you’ve made since saving.
Save View As
Copies an existing custom view and saves the copy as a new view, which lets you customize a shared view or create multiple views with similar settings. This option is available to users you share with.
Add to Sidebar / Remove From Sidebar
These options either add a view to your Views panel or remove it from your Views panel. You can access these options from the menu in the view’s heading area or using the plus (+) and minus (-) icons in the pop-out view manager window. This option is available to users you share with.
Rename
Opens the Save View dialog, a window from which you can enter a new name or select a new icon for the view. If the view is shared, all users with access will see the name and icon. To select a new icon, you must have a security profile that grants additional permissions.
Share
Lets you select other users who can access the view. These users will not be able to modify your view but can use it to make their own editable duplicate. To access this action, you must have a security profile that grants additional permissions. If you share with a user who does not have permission to view the relevant tab, that user will not be able to access the saved view.
Delete
Removes the view permanently.

About Saved Settings

When you save a custom view, Vault includes the following settings:

  • Search terms entered in the search bar
  • All criteria specified in Advanced Search
  • Filters applied
  • Selected layout view, where applicable (tile, compact, tabular, among others)
  • Visible columns and column layout in tabular view
  • Sort setting

Vault does not save the pagination setting for number of documents per page (Show 25, among others).

Limits

Any user can save up to 100 custom views. This limit applies across different tabs, so Thomas could have 50 custom views in the Library and 50 in a custom Products tab, but not more than 100 total. A user with the Share Views permission can save 200 views.

After reaching the limit, a user must delete a custom view before saving another. If you need more than the allowed number of views, you can contact Veeva Support to raise the limit.

The following permissions control your ability to share and modify custom views:

Security Profile

Views: Share Views
Controls ability to share custom views with other users.
Views: View Administration
Controls ability to:
  • Add a custom view to the sidebar for other users and make it non-removable
  • Modify any other mandatory view
  • Delete mandatory views for other users
  • Select custom view icons
  • Delete system-owned views created through cloning (where applicable)