Vault asks users to classify all content (documents and binders) upon creation by selecting a document type. Document type is the combination of the type, subtype, and classification fields on a document. The Reclassify option allows you to change the document type of an existing item. When you reclassify, Vault may add or remove certain fields for the item.

How to Reclassify

The Reclassify link appears in the fields panel of the Doc Info page, near the document type fields. To change the document

  1. Click Reclassify.
  2. In the Change Document Type dialog, select a different Type, Subtype and Classification using the document type selector. When enabled, you can search for document types and descriptions. Note that Vault does not pre-populate the dialog with the document’s current type, subtype, and classification.
  3. Click OK.
  4. A confirmation dialog opens. This dialog shows you which changes Vault will make to the document when you reclassify. Click OK to continue.
  5. A page opens on which you can make selections for the new required fields. Vault auto-populates any fields that were previously populated. Click Save when you finish. If you cancel before saving, Vault does not reclassify the document.

Changes During Reclassify

Much of the information on a document is tied to the document type. When you change this, Vault makes several other changes to the document:

  • If the new document type has different fields, Vault deletes the field values that are not available for the new document type. These values are listed in the audit trail if you ever need to recover them.
  • Vault adds the reclassify action and any associated actions to the audit trail.
  • Depending on your settings, Vault may update the document number based on the numbering format on the new document type. If the Retain Document Status and Number setting is enabled, Vault retains the existing document number if the numbering format is the same for the new document type. If this setting is disabled, Vault always resets the document number.
  • Depending on your settings, Vault may reset the document status to Draft. If the Retain Document Status and Number setting is enabled, Vault retains the document status if the new document type uses the same lifecycle. If this setting is disabled, Vault always resets the document status.
  • If attachments are not enabled on the new document type, Vault deletes any existing attachments.
  • If the document has renditions of a rendition type that is unavailable for the new document type, Vault deletes the renditions.

Note that Vault does not remove users from roles or add new default users to Sharing Settings during reclassification.

Restrictions on Reclassify

  • You cannot reclassify a document when it has an active workflow. To do this, you need to first cancel the workflow.
  • You cannot reclassify a document while it is checked out.
  • You must have Create Document/Create Binder access on the new document type that you’re selecting. These permissions are controlled through document type configuration.
  • You cannot reclassify a Multichannel presentation.
  • To reclassify, you must be in a role with the Reclassify permission.