**Source URL:** https://platform.veevavault.help/en/lr/1198950/

# Suspending Dynamic Access Control

When making configuration changes related to Dynamic Access Control (DAC), such as when updating _User Role Setup_ records, Matching Sharing Rules, Custom Sharing Rules, _Document Type Group_ records, or lifecycle role permissions, Vault recalculates DAC after each configuration change. This can cause significant system processing load when making extensive configuration changes.

To lighten the system processing load during bulk configuration updates, Vault Admins can suspend DAC recalculations by selecting the _Suspend DAC Sharing Settings Calculations_ Admin setting checkbox. After making the necessary configuration changes, Admins can resume DAC recalculations by clearing the _Suspend DAC Sharing Settings Calculations_ Admin setting checkbox. Vault then performs the DAC recalculations in a single bulk pass according to the updated configuration.

We recommend you suspend DAC recalculations when your planned configuration changes meet both of the following criteria:

* When the planned changes will impact 75% or more of the documents or object records in the Vault  
* When more than one million documents or five million object records are secured with DAC sharing settings in the Vault

## Suspending and Resuming DAC Calculations

To suspend DAC recalculations, navigate to **Admin > Settings > Security Settings**, click **Edit** in the _Dynamic Access Control (DAC) Sharing Settings Suspension_ section, select the **Suspend DAC Sharing Settings Calculations** checkbox, and click **Save**. After saving the setting, Vault suspends all DAC calculations and displays a banner indicating that DAC sharing settings calculations have been suspended.

To resume DAC calculations after making configuration updates, click **Edit** in the _Dynamic Access Control (DAC) Sharing Settings Suspension_ section, select the **Suspend DAC Sharing Settings Calculations** checkbox, and click **Save**. After saving the setting, Vault begins the DAC sharing settings recalculations and displays a banner indicating that sharing settings are in the process of being updated. During DAC recalculation, Vault locks the _Suspend DAC Sharing Settings Calculations_ setting checkbox. Once the DAC recalculation is complete, Vault unlocks the _Suspend DAC Sharing Settings Calculations_ setting and displays a banner indicating that DAC sharing settings calculations have been resumed.

## Related Permissions

The following permissions control the ability to suspend and resume DAC recalculations:

| Type | Permission Label | Controls |
| ----- | ----- | ----- |
| Security Profile | Admin: Security Settings: Edit | Grants edit access to the settings on the **Admin > Settings > Security Settings** page. |